Please allow me to introduce myself…

August 11, 2010

Hello Everyone!

My name is Taylor Wycoff, and I am serving as the Dramaturg and Production Manager for Mo`olelo’s upcoming production of Yellow Face.  Simply stating, “I’m excited to be here,” would be the understatement of the century.  Though I’m fresh out of USD’s undergraduate theatre program, the eagerness definitely hasn’t worn off yet.  And I’m absolutely thrilled at the fact that my first opportunity post-graduation is here at Mo`olelo with Seema working on David Henry Hwang’s latest play.  I spent the majority of my last two years in school researching Asian-American playwrights and performance artists and their influence in the social sphere.  In fact, when I first began to think about writing my thesis I had hoped to do a critical analysis of Yellow Face, but it wasn’t yet published and available to the public. 

Hence, the second I saw that Mo`olelo was planning to produce the play, I rushed up to Seema screaming “HOW CAN I GET INVOLVED?!  I’LL DO ANYTHING!!”  (Okay, maybe not the second I found out– after all, I was sitting in the audience reading the playbill for self (the remix) when I first found out and the performance hadn’t even yet begun.  And anyone who has met me would know I’m far too soft-spoken in person to run up to anyone screaming, let alone Seema… but you get the idea!)  So one thing led to another and now, here I am, carrying around a 20 lb binder full of all things Yellow Face everywhere I go.  I certainly have those moments of asking myself, “What in the world was I thinking?!” especially as October seems to be looming just over the horizon.  But, more often than that, I couldn’t be happier.  It’s hard work, and maybe I’ve got my work cut out for me… but it’s definitely the BEST kind of work there is, in my mind.

So with all that being said, it’s been a pleasure meeting you!  And I can’t wait to do it again in person.

Best wishes and see you soon,
Taylor M. Wycoff

One Response to “Please allow me to introduce myself…”

  1. Kristin Yoshimoto Singh Says:

    Welcome Taylor! Thank you for your enthusiasm and hard work!

Leave a Reply

