A Fond Farewell

November 4, 2010

So the saying goes: all good things must come to an end. Now that Yellow Face has officially closed, such is the case with my time at Mo`olelo. My friends and family will attest to the fact that over the course of the last several months, my face-time with anyone outside of the Yellow Face production team has been minimal. Therefore, I would like to take this opportunity to offer insight into some of the outcomes of the project as proof that I wasn’t just avoiding everyone. (And of course, by that I mean brag.) So here’s what all those hours at the office, in the car, and at the theatre turned into:

Fourteen of the twenty performances were sold out by the time advance online ticket sales were closed for that day.

-In the end, we served 2,088 audiences.

Three hundred and seventy three were middle and high school students who participated in the Three Parts Arts Program which included the pre-show preparatory classroom visit, viewing the play, and a post-show workshop in either History, Playwriting, or Acting (lesson plans drafted by yours truly).

And of course, there were a couple of reviews that made everyone on the team breathe a sigh of relief upon reading them:

‘Yellow Face,’ the comical yet slyly wise play now getting an ace production at Mo`olelo Performing Arts Co…. And as smartly realized by artistic chief Seema Sueko (showing a deft touch for comedy) and her multi-ethnic Mo`olelo cast …the show proves as subversive as it is touching and funny. (James Hebert, San Diego Union Tribune)

I saw “Yellow Face” at the Taper years before, and this production at Mo`olelo blew it out of the water! I can honestly say that this has been one of the best theatre experiences of my life… I left the theatre moved, overwhelmed and inspired. This truly is a MUST SEE production. As an actor, having been in a dozen productions myself, this is what I believe theater aspires to be. (A review on YELP)

Now before I leave for good, I have one final thing to say… “because I’m a writer… and in the end, everything’s always about me.” And that is thank you. My time spent at Mo`olelo working on this production has proved to be an experience I will cherish for the rest of my life. And that’s not just because oh my God I got to meet and have drinks and eat dinner with David Henry Hwang, the inspiration for everything I now want to do with my life… (Calm down, Taylor… *BREATHE* Okay, now… continue.) In all seriousness though, through all the sweat and tears, working on this project has been a dream come true. As soon as I came on board, everyone treated me like family. And as time went on, it was clear that everyone involved in the project- Seema, the cast, the designers, the board members, the artists from Answers from the Universe, the many partner organizations… even the ushers!- shared a passion and commitment incomparable to anything else I’ve ever worked on in my short 23 years of life thus far. So to everyone, I say thank you. It has been an honor.

Sincerely,

Taylor M. Wycoff
Dramaturg & Production Manager

2 Responses to “A Fond Farewell”

  1. Rick Says:

    Taylor, you were truly a ray of sunshine every time I encountered you; from early in rehearsal weeks, to the night I actually made it to the play(thank you for making sure I could see it after I couldn’t make it on the night I had purchased tickets—and, oh yeah, that WAS because I was setting fires (so to speak) in the rooftop fireplaces that very night until nearly curtain…..but as usual, you were so appreciative, and sweet, and always had a smile on your face even when nothing else could possibly get crazier…..

    I am really sad to learn (just now in your ‘wrap’ letter) that you are not going to be a ‘regular’ face at upcoming Mo’oleo productions….who will possibly fill your place and provide that great, totally infectious smile? Although I didn’t see you often, every time I did, I felt like you were greeting an old friend—and no ‘old’ jokes, alright?

    You will be ma beautiful light wherever your path takes you, and I hope it leads you to Tenth Avenue Arts Centre frequently to spread more of that sunshine!


  2. You’re a lovely person to hang with, so please stay in touch! I’m anxious to see you in a performance as well. Keep me posted with your pursuits, and feel welcome to let me know if there’s anything I can do to help you out.

Leave a Reply

